Page 1 -

Basic HTML Version

Volume 6, Issue 2
June 2012
Inside This Issue
The Masthead
Volvo Race Boat Drawings
Pg. 1
If you are not already a
and receive your very own copy
next time.
Westlawn is a not-for-profit
educational affiliate of:
ABYC is Your Source for Boatbuild-
ing Standards and Resource Materials.
or the
ABYC Website
If you are not already an ABYC
member, you should be.
for information on
membership benefits
The Journal of the Westlawn Institute of Marine Technology
Design Evolution
2001-2002, 2005-2006 & 2011-2012
Evolution of the Volvo Yacht Designs Over 10 Years
By François Chevalier
Translated from French to English by Donan Raven
With Thanks to Jacques Taglang
o create these lines plans of the Volvo Ocean Race boats, which I drew on trac-
ing paper, I examined the hulls in build or ex-works, using their cradles as a
source at times, and all the while keeping in mind the personalities and intentions
of the yacht designers who had created them, and especially in strict observation of
the relevant rating rules. Thus I was able to draw them fairly accurately. As soon as
the sailing boats received their keels, rudders and centerboards, I was able to final-
ize the plans for the 2001, 2005 and 2011 editions of the Volvo Ocean Race.
In 2001, the new rating rule which defined the VO60 authorized carbon fiber rig-
ging, which gave real oompf to the yachts and profoundly changed their behavior.
Out of eight candidates, six came from Farr Design:
Assa Abloy
News Cor-
Team SEB
Team Tyco
. The team at
Nautor Challenge
ordered two
boats, amongst which one,
Amer Sport Two
, was designed by Bruce Farr himself,
and the other,
Amer Sport One
, was designed by Germán Frers, Jr., AKA “Mani
Frers“. Skipper Grant Dalton held back his choice until the very last moment, when
he left the Farr yacht to Lisa McDonald's all-female crew. The eighth yacht was Nor-
wegian entry
Djuice Dragons
designed by Laurie Davidson.
François Chevalier’s remarkable article provides the lines drawings of the
Volvo Ocean Race boats, including those racing the final leg of the 2011-
2012 race underway as this is written!